Clapton Pond Neighbourhood Action Group

1. The name of the organisation is Clapton Pond Neighbourhood Action Group (hereinafter ‘the organisation’)
2. Subject to the matters set out below, “the organisation” and its property shall be administered and managed in accordance with this constitution and by ‘the management committee’ constituted in clause 13 of this constitution (‘The Management Committee’).

3. The objects of the organisation shall be:

  • a) to promote the conservation, protection and improvement of the physical and natural environment of Clapton Pond in London and the surrounding area (‘the area of benefit’)
  • b) to advance the education of the inhabitants of the area of benefit and the public in general in environmental matters without discrimination to age, gender, race, disability, sexual orientation and/or political or religious beliefs.
  • c) to improve community facilities in the area of benefit.
  • d) To make representations to relevant regeneration bodies, public sector funders and other statutory and non-statutory organisations on behalf of its members and beneficiaries.

4. In furtherance to the objects, the management committee shall have the following powers to:

  • a) raise funds and to invite and receive contributions;
  • b) undertake and co-ordinate work in furtherance of the above objects, including research, publications, exhibitions, training, events, web-sites and activities;
  • c) support, work with, bring together in conference, exchange information and advice, and co-operate with other voluntary community groups, schools, education establishments, statutory organisations, charities and individuals engaged in education, voluntary work, community work, or in furtherance of the said objects;
  • d) take any other lawful action to promote the above objects;
  • e) buy or lease and to maintain any equipment necessary for the achievement of the objects;
  • f) sell, to lease or to dispose of the above;
  • g) commission pieces of work from advisors (who shall not be honorary officers or members of the management committee) as required for the proper pursuit of the objects;
  • h) publish books, periodicals, pamphlets and other materials in printed, recorded or electronic format, and to hold intellectual property rights in anysuch material;
  • i) organise conferences, debates, seminars, and such other special events as the management committee may determine;
  • j) do all such other lawful things as are necessary for the achievement of the objects.

5. Ordinary membership of the organisation is open to any persons over the age of 18 years interested in furthering the objects of the organisation.

6. Group membership shall be open to groups that are interested in furthering the objects of the organisation. They will be represented at meetings by a named delegate.

7. Junior membership shall be open to all persons aged under 18 interested in furthering the objects of the organisation.

8. Every ordinary member shall have one vote and every group delegate shall also have one vote per group.

9. No junior members shall have the right to vote.

10. Applications for membership and any questions arising thereof shall be decided upon by the management committee. The management committee shall have the right for good and sufficient reason to terminate the membership of any individual member provided that the member is given the right to be heard by the management committee before a decision is made.

11. All members of the organisation shall abide by the rules laid out in this constitution, and any rules or policies as decided upon by the management committee under clause 26 of this constitution, including anti-discrimination, equal opportunities, health and safety and other policies and rules.
Honorary Officers

12. At the annual general meeting the members shall elect from among themselves the following honorary officers; chair, vice-chair, secretary and treasurer who shall hold office from the conclusion of the meeting until the next AGM.
Management Committee

13. The management committee shall consist of:

  • a) The honorary officers specified in the clause 12;
  • b) Not less than 4 and not more than 8 ordinary members (including not more than one 1 group representative), elected at the annual general meeting, who shall hold office from the conclusion of that meeting;
  • c) The management committee may in addition appoint not more than two co-opted members. Each appointment of the co-opted member shall be made at an extraordinary meeting of the committee and shall take effect from the end of that meeting unless the appointment is to fill a place which has not then been vacated in which case the appointment shall run from the date when the post becomes vacant.

14. Honorary officers shall cease to hold office if s/he:

  • a) has been convicted of any offence involving dishonesty or deception and are over 18 and still subject to the provisions of the Rehabilitation of Offenders Act 1984;
  • b) has been adjudged an undischarged bankrupt;